Our network

50 Ga. schools 'Mix It Up' to promote tolerance | Community Spirit

Title (Max 100 Characters)

50 Ga. schools 'Mix It Up' to promote tolerance
50 Ga. schools 'Mix It Up' to promote tolerance

ATLANTA -- Fifty schools in Georgia were represented at this year's Mix It Up at Lunch Day.

The event, which is part of the Southern Poverty Law Center's Teaching Tolerance project, encourages children to step outside their comfort zones and sit with someone new at lunch.

"When people step out of their cliques and get to know someone, they realize just how much they have in common," Teaching Tolerance director Maureen Costello said in a statement. "Mix It Up is a positive step that can help create schools where students see each other as individuals and not just as members of a separate group."

Nearly 3,000 schools across the country took part in Mix It Up at Lunch Day on Oct. 30.

Participating Georgia schools include:

Galloway School
North Atlanta HS
School of Health Sciences and Research at Carver

Bibb County
Stratford Academy

Carroll County
University of West Georgia, Carrollton

Chatham County
Coastal Georgia Comprehensive Academy, Savannah

Clarke County
Clarke MS, Athens
Monsignor Donovan Catholic HS, Athens

Clayton County
Huie ES, Forest Park

Cobb County
Cooper MS, Austell
Palmer ES, Kennesaw

Coweta County
Madras MS, Newnan
Western ES, Newnan

DeKalb County
Bethune MS, Decatur
Cedar Grove MS, Decatur
Chamblee Charter HS
Champion School, Stone Mountain
Hambrick ES, Stone Mountain
Northwoods Montessori School, Doraville
Oak View ES, Decatur
St. Martin's Episcopal School, Brookhaven

Dougherty County
Dougherty Comprehensive HS, Albany

Fulton County
Barnwell ES, Alpharetta
Epstein School, Sandy Springs
Holy Redeemer Catholic School, Johns Creek
Ocee ES, Johns Creek
Ridgeview Charter School, Atlanta
Riverwood HS, Sandy Springs
St. John the Evangelist School, Hapeville
Woodward Academy, College Park

Gwinnett County
Armstrong Gray International School, Snellville
Mountain View HS, Lawrenceville
Summerour MS, Norcross
Trickum MS, Lilburn

Hart County
Hart County MS, Hartwell

Henry County
Henry County Evening Academy, McDonough
Locust Grove HS
Ola ES, McDonough
Red Oak ES, Stockbridge
Stockbridge MS

Muscogee County
Blanchard ES, Columbus
Dawson ES, Columbus
Hardaway HS, Columbus

Paulding County
Moses MS, Dallas

Pickens County
Jasper MS

Rockdale County
Davis MS, Stockbridge
Memorial MS, Conyers

Tift County
Eighth Street MS, Tifton